Meera

meera ganapathi street fashion mumbai
Meera Ganapathi. 26. Can’t focus on anything for long, likes Punjabi music, one half of Two Material Girls, and is currently suppressing an urge to sing. Photographed earlier this year in May in Bandra.
What are the names of your cats?
Norman Francis and the other one is yet to be christened. Right now we’re going by, ‘Aye! Noooo!’
What are you listening to now?
Keep you by Class Actress and  Thrift shop by Macklemore.

Films you have watched the most number of times?
City of Lost Children, Edward Scissorhands, Napoleon Dynamite, and predictably Amelie.
 
How would you describe your work?
Material Girls is where I take out all my creative frustration. My needle pierces cloth with very righteous creative anger. “You won’t let me do this advertising???? Fuck you, fuck you, fuck you!”

What’s your favourite book?
The Great Gatsby. It’s set in my favourite time period, when minds were open, fashion was incredible, music was deeply romantic….

your worst vice?
I can’t focus on anything for too long. It’s frustrating. Like, I have no less than seven tabs open at any point on Chrome. Or if I’m watching a movie, I’m simultaneously googling the plot. Or I have to read two books at once; one when I’m bored and one when I need to sleep.

… your favourite sound?
Like every unhealthy Indian I respect a good oily sizzle in the pan; a very comforting sound. Second most favourite sound would be teeth gnashing. On a separate note, ‘gnashing’ is such a great word.

…your favourite website?
www.flavorwire.com People who run this site might know me personally. They have articles on all off-beat, weird things I’m usually interested in. Like, “Strangely Beautiful Photos Of Fake Cakes and Bodies Of Water.”

…your favourite label?
I’m not loyal to any labels. I like a healthy mix of street shopping and travel shopping. And I look terrible in over fancy clothes, like a priss ball.

…your worst fashion secret?
There are too many Bata school shoes in my house that I use way too often and way too shamelessly.

…a secret you’re tired of keeping?
For some reason I really, really, like Punjabi music. It’s very odd.

…best thing about NH7 Weekender?
Seun Kuti and Manganiyar Seduction.

…worst thing about NH7 Weekender?
The boob grope(at the security check).

What’s the best thing about where you’re now?
Mumbai is so awful, polluted, crowded, and shitty, but one week in Bangalore and I crave Mumbai. I can’t tell why, but I guess that is the best part.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Meera”

  1. Anjum Says:

    wow traditional and stylish wear super Thanks ,I would like to share my blog with all of you
    https://www.unnatisilks.com/

  2. Chanakya W Says:

    I absolutely and positively relate to Meera. Tripped over the part where she mentioned Napoleon Dynamite…..and AMELIE! 😍😎

    The world should know more about its greatest women and miss Ganapathi fits right in that category. 😎😌

  3. 30 Incredibly Chic Street-Style Photos From India | YO Status ->YO Status -> Says:

    […] wearabout.wordpress.com […]

  4. 30 Incredibly Chic Street-Style Photos From India | シ最愛遲到.! Says:

    […] wearabout.wordpress.com […]

  5. 30 Incredibly Chic Street-Style Photos From India - The London Hair Company - Studio City Says:

    […] wearabout.wordpress.com […]

  6. jessbuurman Says:

    Love the color and deign of the skirt.You Look really fabulous in

  7. Sneha Says:

    This answers on this page are so completely honest…it just reeks of the flavour called Meera!

    She has always been the girl with the quirky talent, the incredible wit and the ability to wear a sack of potatoes like the very next thing in fashion.

    Super! I loved this page 🙂

  8. Pooja Says:

    Lovely color combination.

  9. Ace Says:

    Can I just say how happy I am that she is listening to Thrift Shop by Macklemore? As an NRI living in Seattle soon to be moving to Mumbai I’m so glad that Macklemore is spreading around the world. Also, love the style blog!

  10. Miss D Says:

    Gorg she is!

  11. Nirukti Says:

    I love this girl! Not a creepy fan girl. I stalk The Material Girls on a daily basis. 🙂

  12. Julia Kleiner Says:

    lovely color combo.

  13. H Says:

    Their blog is absolutely adorable. Witty too!

Leave a comment