Zuboni Humtsoe

street style dimapur nagaland

street style dimapur nagaland
Zuboni Humtsoe, 23. Superwoman. Lotha NagaLives in Dimapur.

“I wish I could be 23 forever. That way I would have all the time in the world to run after my dreams. Don’t have to worry about getting old and doing things in a hurry, no?

I grew up here in Sema Tilla in Dimapur. There was nothing here. We would fly & chase kites, go looking for frogs, climb trees, steal bugri, steal milk from the army cantonment area, steal vegetables and coconuts from Catholic priest’s garden. As a kid, I think I was different. When other kids would talk about barbies and picnics and all pretty things, I would dream about traveling to new places. My sister thinks I am a ‘dreamer’ but I am realistic too and that is when I start doubting myself.

I studied Political Science in Delhi. I loved the subject. College taught me a lot about world and life. It gave me the confidence to do what I want to do and not follow the crowd. Here, in Nagaland, everybody is obsessed with white collar jobs, security of government jobs, and comfort of a pension. Working in the government is easy. You don’t even have to work at times.

I like observing how people dress up and style themselves. Since school I was fascinated by fashion shows and elaborate photoshoots in magazines. Part of growing up in a society that’s obsessed with vintage clothing also fascinated me. My childhood is flooded with vintage shopping memories — my mother and aunts would wear high waisted denims with cotton crop tops and their favorite shade of red lipstick — a trip to the market was never complete without a visit to the ‘other’ side. We would have fun dressing up…that was happiness for us.

I like everything by Michael Buble. Sunrise & Happy Pills by Norah Jones are my favourites.”

Do you have any fashion icons?
I like Cate Blanchett and Frida Giannini.

If you could live somewhere else, where would you be? 
Japan.

Photographed and interviewed in Dimapur in Jan 2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

