Samten

dharamsala street fashion india
Samten, 31. Tibetan. Works as a photographer. Lives in McLeodGanj, Dharamsala.

How long have you been living here and what did you do before working as a photographer?
I came here in 2004. I worked at coffee shops, restaurants. In total around 7-8 places.

What kind of photography you’re interested in?
Nothing in particular. It’s free. For example I like this cup, I have some feeling, I take a photo.

Do you have any favourite books?
I like reading Chinese & Buddhist philosophy. I just started reading this book about a traveller who came to Beijing, then inner Mongolia via Xinghai then Lhasa and what he saw how everything was about 200 years ago. It’s in Chinese. I don’t know how to translate the name. // I think it’s Young Husband.

Favourite films?
Weeping camel. Amelie. YesterdayIn the Heat of the Sun.

Is there anything you find interesting about Buddhist philosophy?
The Buddha talk.  // Dhammapada

Does your name mean anything?
Samten means if I go this way I’m never coming back. If I am thinking something, I decide to do something, I will do it.

Do you believe in reincarnation?
Yes yes yes. I think it’s true. When we die we just change bodies. Yes.

Photographed and interviewed in Mcleodganj in November 2013.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

