Rashmi Alevoor

street style india rashmi alevoor
street style india rashmi alevoor
27 years old…grew up in Pune but really grew up in Boston and Mumbai. Graduated in Economics. Likes to learn something new everyday…

What did you learn today? 
Well, I’ve been learning Spanish everyday. But I don’t mean you necessarily need to make that much of a commitment. I just learned how to cook Mexican Lime Chicken this evening.
And yesterday?  
Yesterday, I learned where the expression “Indian Giver” comes from. It’s fun to learn a little thing everyday – makes life wondrous.

Do you travel? Where all have you been?
I’m FULL of wanderlust. I have a special place in my heart for the north of India. My father is in the Merchant Navy and so I’ve also been lucky enough to tag along with him as a child to places like Australia, Korea, Japan. I studied in Boston more recently so I’ve done a bit of travelling in the U.S. I just got back this morning (3 AM) from the U.K. where I visited wonderful places like York, Runswick Bay, Whitby, the Lake District among the more obvious choices like Newcastle and London. I have a penchant for the offbeat.

How was NH7
I loved the atmosphere. It’s the closest event we (in India) have to a real music festival. I also like that folk artists finally have a voice in Indian popular culture. I was SO surprised to hear that King Creosote would be performing in Pune. Incidentally, I saw him perform with Jon Hopkins in Leeds on the 19th of February. I got to be on the guest list because we chatted while he was in Pune for NH7.

Who are your favourite artistes/bands?
The National. The Tallest Man on Earth. Bon Iver. Andrew Bird. Beirut. King Creosote. Sigur Ros. And many, many, many more.

Five films you suggest everybody must watch?
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Amelie. Annie Hall. Life is Beautiful. The Artist.

..and five must-read books?
Everything is Illuminated and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Animal Farm by George Orwell. Any book by Jane Austen. Atlas Shrugged. The Catcher in the Rye.

In life, what do you feel strongly about?
Music, honesty, respect for EVERYONE, nature, travel and exploration, awareness of the world we live in, reading, and most importantly LOVE (I’m a goofball.)

“Awareness of the world we live in.” Elaborate?
I guess what I mean by that is to keep your eyes and ears open. Read every chance you get – know what’s happening across the world.  Know a little about everything – politics, music, art, fashion. I guess what I’m suggesting is for people to have a healthy appetite and lust for life.

What does “being in love” mean to you?
This is a big question. Being in love is the most wonderful thing there is to experience in the world. I can only speak from personal experience of course, but for me, love is when you want to be better for someone else. When they inspire you to be your best. When you start getting very excited about the future. And when you want to fill the present with a lot of their presence.

—-

I met Rashmi briefly two years ago, on a semi-drunken night, post some show at LFW. She’d quit as a copywriter and was looking for work. I met her again this time in November at NH7 in Pune. We kind of recognized each other.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Rashmi Alevoor”

  1. Natasha Fatah Says:

    What a babe. Love her cameo brooch!
    xoxo
    http://www.natashafatah.blogspot.com

  2. Nirukti Says:

    Such a pretty lady!🙂

  3. Vicky Says:

    charming! yet looks familiar

  4. Prachi Gawand Says:

    Nice stuff!!🙂

  5. Nalini Sharma Says:

    Hi
    Greetings of the day!
    First of all many congratulations for maintaining such a fabulous blog.

    Thanks for your time

    Regards,
    Nalini

Leave a Reply

