Yohji’s Man

street fashion blog west bengal india

street style blog west bengal india

street style fashion india

“People think I’m mad…you know..little off..but I’m not. I’m just old. I don’t disturb anyone. Tired. But not mad. I’m easily ignored. If I stand too long in front of a shop, I’m asked to leave -shooed away like a stray cow. Road is home. There are plenty of places to sleep-next to a shop, or under a tree, or just on the sidewalk. I grew up in this city but can’t remember the exact area. It’s been too many years. Sometimes people give me food. Sometimes I go to the vegetable market or sit outside hotels and get leftovers. Food does not worry me..I can find it anywhere.”

Where is your family?
There is no one. Don’t know where everybody went…

What things do you usually think about?
Everything. This place. I come here everyday. It was empty 10 years ago. It is still empty…

What are you going to do next?
I’ll rest here.

—–
Photographed in Burnpur, West Bengal.

street fashion blog west bengal india

—-
“I exist here, now. I’m not much interested in the future. Or, more precisely put, I do not believe in the future. To exaggerate a little, I have no faith that I will still exist tomorrow or the day after. What is more, I absolutely detest retrospection. That dislike is balanced only by my desire to make my way back home as quickly as possible.”
-Yohji Yamamoto

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Yohji’s Man”

  1. Satya Kala Seshagiri Says:

    Thus making our super-duper life bite the dust, so humbling this is.s

  2. creasyo Says:

    Wonderful shots and wonderful insight well done!

  3. hiddenbutton Says:

    this is beautiful.

  4. shruti Says:

    i think i have seen this man….yes of course…this is india…you will easily find such men and women at every corner of the street!

    well captured!

  5. puja Says:

    pure bliss.. feel rejuvenated….

  6. Pragati Says:

    awesome!!!!! one can actually feel him suffering the anguish! hats off to the write up!:)

  7. Sheena Says:

    I don’t think he’s anguished at all.

    Beautiful.

  8. Swetha K Says:

    I love the post (as I do all others).. But I have to ask.. Did you have to tweak him a bit?? If you shot him the way he was then he is a gem. And as much as I relate to quote.. in my world it is unfortunately referred to as some vague number sin- Sloth.😦

  9. Prithvi Says:

    Our very own Nakata… this is amazing…

  10. komal Says:

    Real thus beautiful

  11. star von fernz Says:

    marry me manou 😛

  12. Swetha Says:

    No.. i didn’t mean ‘tweak’ the image.🙂 Anyhow, I think the question was misplaced. Let’s leave it at ‘I Love the post!’.

  13. Prachi Gawand Says:

    Love the post!

  14. Suranjeeta Says:

    awesome interview….!

  15. artyheart Says:

    Love it, touched my heart and all that.
    Wonder how this guy so stylish, the stripes, the belt (i’m trying that tonight. wollen threads -woot!), the mintish-whitish pants. I love him.
    A little scrub here and there & he’d look like a lead metal singer.
    +1 for the hair, babe.

    http://www.arty-heart.blogspot.com

  16. Priyanktha Iyengar Says:

    love this post:)

  17. sudipto Says:

    Dude…the cerebral aroma of this piece is so effing profound !!! What you do is not just a way to document fashion…you decode life itself in your own ‘signature’ way…connecting apparently unconnected dots…you are seriously gifted man…the ability to see analogy in the most unlikely places is surely a gift, making you a philosopher, a historian, a sociologist & a trend-watcher/trend analyst…God bless you. Keep up the good work.

  18. Eunice Says:

    I think this interview is one of the best on here.

Leave a Reply

