Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

street fashion india

nijhum

Nijhum Nj Patra, 23. Fashion Model/Student…loves her blue sapphire hero cycle that now has a basket in front; prefers street shopping to mall shopping; has been listening to a lot of Adele; loves electro progressive; is reading The Collector; loves all animated films-Despicable Me & Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs are her favourites; is in her final year of studying fashion at NIFT Bombay; dislikes people making her wait; is obsessed with the color green…and loves the smell of cocoa butter.

nijhum fashion model india

nijhum nj patra fashion model lakme fashion week

Childhood
As a kid I was always leading-was the march past band leader, team captain of kho-kho/kabaddi teams..but really bad at basketball. I grew up in Duliajan in Assam..studied at St. Mary’s, Guwahati then moved to Bishop Cotton, Bangalore for final school years. My family grew up all scattered-my dad was in some other city, and my sister in another; we’d meet in 6 months.

First job
It was in 11th standard. I did this part-time job for some Aero India or Air-India Expo? I just had to stand and welcome people at the expo. I didn’t get paid much.

First fashion week.
LFW is the first time I’m doing something really big. I came through auditions..there were about 120 girls and being one of the selected few was a big boost. My dad came for my first show here and he was gleaming with pride. I could see it on his face.

What do you intend to do with your LFW earnings?
I plan to send my parents on a trip. My mom has been telling me about how beautiful Kashmir is. I’m not sure if it’d be safe to send them there…so maybe I’d pay them to come visit me. But this entire first salary goes to them.

ed hardy shoes

“Most I ever spent was on these Ed hardy shoes..they’re white..with lace tie-ups & fur in front..like white panther on my feet. And I’ve put neon colored laces on them. Bought them for 18,000! Cheapest would be 100 bucks chappals from Linking Road.”

lakme fashion week

On a non-working day
I sleep! Or finish the pending college assignments.

nijhum patra design
Photo above: Nijhum’s own design.

Designer or a model?
I eventually want to be a fashion designer…but doing fashion weeks is a lot of fun. You get to know what happens backstage..how designers, stylists, choreographers, models, and all other crew work together. It’s a big learning process. I love the spotlight..& clothes..& transforming myself in to the clothes…playing the part that I’m expected to play. Maybe I’d do modeling for a few years till the face & body stay….and then something else..

Modeling is what I love doing but I think I would make a better designer.  The collection I loved the most was Ruchika Sachdeva‘s Bodice. I’d love to own a piece from it.

Working out
I don’t work out or follow a beauty regime as such. This is where the grooming part comes. I probably need to start doing that.

nijhum nj patra indian fashion model

Staying alone
I’ve been staying alone for 1 and half years and I love my space. Best thing about staying alone is you can roam around naked in the house…and not really worry about the mess either..as the mess is your own.

Bombay.
Food is brilliant. Traveling is a pain…since I stay in Kharghar. Street shopping is great too but I think it’s better in Delhi. Parties and music is good here..but not as good as Bangalore…but then Bangalore shuts by 11. I feel Bombay is the place to be if you want to learn something. This is where it all happens!
Hate the unexpected rains. Then there is this particular bombay smell – smell of fish and filth. Hate that!

Can you smell it now?
No. Now I can only smell hairspray.

Standing photos taken at Hyatt during LFW’11.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs”

  1. Dolly H Says:

    as far as I remember, she was also good at basketball😀

  2. upasana.b Says:

    Well, she always stood out!😉

  3. Suranjeeta Says:

    hey, i think she was my junior in St.Mary’s…tall girl !! nice

  4. artyheart Says:

    Such a stunner. Love the animals printed on her dress. Lovelovelovelovelove

  5. Bodice « Wear about Says:

    […] 2nd appearance here. I missed her show but I made up for it by shooting a few collection pieces on Nijhum. “Having created a buzz even before she showed, we had high expectations of the newbie […]

Leave a Reply

