LFW Concluded…

…right when it is about to begin. Photos from Lakme Fashion Week|Summer 11…+ some are even older. Evidently, I’d been busy.

fashion model india

Bryndis Helgadottir, 21. Fashion model from Reykjavik, Iceland…studied business and economics…was found by scouting agents in Iceland..started modeling at 13; can make horn sound with her hands clasped; loves Arnaldur Indriðason; likes naan, butterchicken, & dosa. Misses her cockatiel-Pjakka. This was her first time at LFW.

fashion blog india

fashion blog india

Nikhil D, 24….grew up in Bombay, studied science, till he went to a fashion school. His first serious job was at the clothing brand Chemistry. “I did a little bit of everything there-designing men’s wear, women’s wear, graphics, branding..and it was interesting because I wasn’t sure what exactly I wanted to do then.”
“I started styling with Seventeen India and now Marie Claire India where I’ve been working for two years now. I get to do a lot of different things, & the best part is meeting a lot of new people and creative minds. Even better..get to collaborate with them and create things like you see them.”

What inspires your style and you ..in general?
Umm people do…what they wear on the streets, at home, to work. Older people, the homeless, kids, uniforms, also films from all around the world, anything contradictory…aged but progressive.

You have an eclectic wardrobe & you rarely throw clothes away…
Yes. I’m a hoarder; I never throw things away. I like to keep them for years & sometimes even cut them up or dye them and wear them again. When I was growing up I got a lot of clothes from my cousins who were growing out of them. I also used to wear a lot of my dad’s old clothes, since I hardly ever went shopping. I also love the idea of unisex clothing and shop a lot from the women’s wear brands….which is a considerably big part of my wardrobe now. I also love prints, hardly own any black, and love collecting sweaters.
Jacket/shirt- Colaba. Pants – Zara. Shoes – custom made. Necklace – DIY. Sunglasses – Topman.Bag-Aldo accessories.

lakme fashion week india

 lakme fashion week

footwear

lakme fashion week india

lakme fashion week india

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india ss 11

street fashion india

lakme fashion week india

lakme fashion week india

Christina Hanghal, 25. Stylist/Fashion designer.

lakme fashion week india

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india

fashion model india
Rikee Chatterjee, 23. Fashion model…is a Bengali…is 5’11″…grew up watching FTV; was huge and plump as a kid; studied mass communication; likes 212 by Carolina Herrera; doesn’t go online; loves baby sitting, hakka noodles, & dhaba food.

street fashion india

Shikha, 24. Stylist. Top – Reiss, Bandra. Skirt- Forever 21. Bag/shoes – Hong Kong Street. Socks – Brother’s. 

street fashion india

model india lakme fashion week

lakme fashion week india

kavita rayirath

Kavita, 30. Fashion Model.  Wearing a 5 year old jacket-designed by a fashion student. Necklace – Splash.

lakme fashion week

lakme fashion week india
Ibadariakar,24. Fashion writer.

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india ss 11
Karuna Laungani, 25. Fashion stylist.

nina mendes fashion model
Nina Mendes, 20. Fashion model..from Rio de Janeiro...just finished school and wants to study gastronomy; has been modeling since she was 15; was quiet as a kid..and almost boylike; likes making desserts..wants to have her own restaurant back in Rio; first Indian film she watched was Devdas; loves Eat, Pray, Love; considers autorickshaw as her best friend; likes roti & this Indian dessert that’s made of milk and coconut; misses Brazilian weather, the clean beaches, rice & beans.
Once I thought about traveling by train in Bombay…went to the train station, saw the madness, & ended up taking a cab.
I can’t go out in shorts & tee shirt..always have to wear  jeans and keep everything covered. People in my building think we’re prostitutes; they are always watching us!
It’s her first time in India and at Lakme Fashion Week.

lakme fashion week india ss 11

Kiran Jaisinghani. Fashion Designer|Myoho

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week

rachel bayros
Rachel Bayros, 25. Fashion model.

jennifer sodhi

Jennifer Sodhi. 28. Fashion model….
grew up in Berlin..studied psychology..Ancient Greek & Latin. Speaks German, Spanish, & English fluently…little of Portugese, Italian, & French…..doesn’t like R&B and cold weather; has been living without a TV for 5 years; grew up watching Hindi films; likes Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan’s Piya Re; uses “I hope not” a lot… Her father is Indian- a little obstinate and compares modeling to prostitution; her mother is German.
My parents would like me to do other things…like have a steady job that gives me more security. My father does not appreciate modeling & doesn’t understand why I am not working as a psychologist. So I tell him it’s my life and I have the right to live it my own way. We’re very close but our thoughts clash all the time. I like to find my own way even if I’ve to go against things; I often feel people are not free when they’re following other people’s views. I like to be myself & am constantly trying to free myself from the stereotypes.

lakme fashion week india ss 11

I am staying in Bandra. And there’re restrictions like I am not allowed to bring people to my apartment..I have to be very careful what I wear when I go out….and in…because supposedly indian culture doesn’t allow all that and would make people think that you’re a prostitute!
This one time I wore a black mini skirt with tights for an audition..I got lost somewhere and was asking for directions..I realized Indian women wouldn’t want to talk to me at all…but men were very open.

This profiling models at LFW was part of a commissioned story I did for vogue.in|models to watch out for.

lakme fashion week india ss 11
Ekta Rajani. Fashion Editor.

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india ss 11

lakme fashion week india

This is not staged. Shiraz’s heel got stuck and the fixed grate came off along with it. 

“The leading cause of death among fashion models is falling through street grates.”
– Dave Barry

lakme fashion week india ss 11

fashion week conclusion

LFW(fall/winter) kicks off in 6 days. See you there!

P.S. The camel photograph is not from LFW.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “LFW Concluded…”

  1. bryfling (@bryfling) Says:

    I love how you arrange your pictures and text. And I wish I looked like Rachel Bayros❤

  2. Priyanka Says:

    Loved the moods n expressions n ofcourse colours !!

  3. Radhika Says:

    Awesome! Loved the splashes of yellow and orange..and the grate accident😛

  4. Nikita Banerjee Says:

    Hello Manou! I read your interview at Blog Adda and I am glad I did! I think your blog presents fashion with an interesting perspective and that is why, I think, its very engaging. Great work and lovely pics.

    P.S: Love the shoes

  5. shooting star Says:

    just read ur interview on blogadda…nice!!!

    have been coming here on and off…..especially liked ur shillong series!!

    and so nice that u put so many shoe pics in this post..complete bliss to see them all for a shoe holic like me

  6. JK Says:

    very nice….

Leave a Reply

