Here Comes the Umbrella

It was a long, cold, lonely winter, and it felt like it’d been there for years..but then out came the sun and The Beatles said, “it’s alright.” Smile returned to people’s faces. The sun shone, and people sipped lemonade, but when came the rain, people ran and hid their heads, and The Beatles said, “when it rains and shines, it’s just a state of mind.”

These photos were taken during the months of August, September, October in Mcleodganj, Dharamsala. It was considerably cold throughout. People looked happy when the sun shone, rain always brought with it a bit of gloominess, and life got colder with the dark winter fog.  Just a state of mind? I can’t be sure.
Meanwhile, the cost of these umbrellas remained unaffected, ranging from 60Rs. to 250Rs.

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Here Comes the Umbrella”

  1. Smrithi Rao Says:

    Oh this is my favorite for now :)

  2. Fashion Bombay Says:

    ooh love the rainbow coloured ones. excellent shots

  3. K-ay Says:

    Love!y pictures!

  4. kiran Says:

    Great pictures. Very nice blog

  5. Anusha Says:

    How gorgeous!! Love love love it! :)

    P.S., Love your blog too. I’m from Sri Lanka. I added your blog to my links, if you don’t mind?

  6. Spardha Says:

    Gloominess is a state of mind that i’m wrapped in at the moment! Your blog brings cheer :)

  7. window siller Says:

    I love you, love you, for this post. I so wanted that colour-striped umbrella… but no one let me get it. now I am gonna buy it, no matter what. they look so good.
    thank you, thank you! :) :)

  8. Sovina Says:

    usually i dont like rains but these umbrellas make me want to step out in it..

    http://weddingonthecards.blogspot.com/

  9. Lauren Says:

    I love you, love you, for this post. I so wanted that colour-striped umbrella… but no one let me get it. now I am gonna buy it, no matter what. they look so good.thank you, thank you!
    +1

  10. Kismet Says:

    We are waiting anxiously for your next post. PLEASE PLEASE do it soon. I cant wait, cant wait any longer.

  11. tahnee Says:

    Hey, i guess i found you after a long time. Nice to see your blog posting on Vogue. I was in dharmshala about 20 days ago. Saw all the umbrellas, managed to see the Dalai Lama while he was leaving for delhi at the town square near the monastery. I don’t know where all you went but hope you got to see norbulingka. it’s a really awesome place to go to.

    • Manou Says:

      Hey! Good to see you here. Yes..i went to N’lingka – amazingly done but the place in itself was kind of boring…maybe that’s because I had no purpose other than just seeing the place!

  12. Nicholas Says:

    Beautiful umbrelas. i was there in dharamsala same time as u. think might have seen u.

  13. jessbuurman Says:

    love this collection of colorful umbrella.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,031 other followers